Forfeited Land Commission

The Forfeited Land Commission is a commission established by the State of South Carolina which consists of the County Treasurer, Auditor, and Register of Deeds, who serve without compensation. The purpose of the Forfeited Land Commission is to affect the sale of lands forfeited in pursuance of the South Carolina Code of Laws, 1976, as amended 12-51-55; whereas the Delinquent Tax Collector at the tax sale submits the bid on behalf of the Forfeited Land Commission equal to the amount of all unpaid taxes, assessments, penalties, and cost. At the end of the redemption period, properties held by the Forfeited Land Commission will be disposed of pursuant to the Policy and Procedures established by the Commission in the best interest of the County.

For more information on Forfeited Land Commission, see the South Carolina Code of Law at Title 12, Chapter 59.

Forfeited Land Commission Members

Peggy Hensley
Fairfield County Auditor

Judy Bonds
Register of Deeds

Norma Branham
Fairfield County Treasurer

Agent for Forfeited Land Commission

Jim Thompson
Field Representative

Online Auction

The next auction begins Friday, January 22, 2020 at 8:00 AM EST

Click here for more info

Contact Us

101 South Congress Street
P.O. Box 88
Winnsboro, SC 29180

Fax: 803-635-2767
Office Hours: Monday-Friday, 9AM-5PM

Peggy Hensley
County Auditor
+1 803-712-6524

Judy Bonds
Clerk of Court/Register of Deeds

James "Jim" Thompson
Field Representative